Clinton Swick

Cowboy Poet Clinton SwickClinton (Clint) Swick is a self-taught poet, spinning stories in rhyme. Born near Clarksburg, West Virginia, he learned early about the importance of hard work and self-reliance, about the affection of dogs and horses and people, and what the fields and streams and hills can tell us if we take time to listen. As a child he played cowboy with his brothers, read books about the Old West, and listened to radio dramas like Gunsmoke, Roy Rogers, Gene Autry, Red Ryder, and similar programs.

After stints in the Marine Corps and the U. S. Army, he went to Kansas where friends were working. There, he found a wife, and a career in aircraft manufacturing, and raised two boys. He retired in the countryside east of Wichita after many years as an inspector for LearJet/Bombardier. One day, he wrote a poem and discovered a natural talent for storytelling and painting word-pictures. The poems kept coming. Just Me Telling It My Way, is a collection of those rhymed stories, some of them dramatic, some humorous, some a mixture of both.

Clinton and his wife are members of the Western Music Association and attend Chuckwagon Supper Club get-togethers when possible.

Clinton Swick is the author of Just Me Telling It My Way, a collection of cowboy poetry.

Tales in Verse from the Old West . . .Just Me Telling It My Way A Collection of Cowboy Poetry

The 50+ poems in this book are, first and foremost, stories. They just happen to rhyme as they weave campfire tales of men riding across a frontier of prairies and mountains. They tell of those riders' encounters with other men, women, children, animals, and sometimes with spirits not of this earth. Poetry, yes, but poetry in the tradition of Louis L'amour's and Zane Grey's Western novels. The man riding up to your campfire might be hoping to share your coffee or planning to leave you dead. Flash floods, grizzly bears, stampedes—even a joke that ceases to be funny can be as dangerous as a man facing you with his hand hovering near his six-gun. But these poems of the Old West also prove humor can be found in any situation, and the lone rider never knows when romance is laying in wait to ambush him.

. . . And the New

Cowboys didn't ride off into the sunset when the Wild West became civilized. In these poems a cowboy is a cowboy, whether he's riding a horse or a pickup truck, whether he's in the mountains of Western Montana or the hills of West Virginia where the author grew up. They tell us a cowboy is anyone who's always willing to be there for someone in need, protect those that need protecting, put in an honest day's work, enjoy a good-natured prank, honor friendship and have the sense to recognize a good woman when he finds her. In the tradition of the best cowboy poets, this collection of cowboy poems tell stories in which we can see ourselves … at least, we hope that we do.

Grave Distractions Publications; Nashville, TN 37214 ©2014 All Rights Reserved.

An Independent Publisher of Books and eBooks that Matter. View this page for contact information.